Reflection

Assignment:

Objec­tive: expe­ri­en­tial in­sights from over­all project, about your discipline/field and Web writ­ing.

Dis­cuss thought­fully and specif­i­cally your in­sights about dis­ci­pline, con­ven­tions, knowl­edge within “Infor­ma­tion Par­a­digm” (as one world­view):

– how infor­ma­tion is used/privileged; argu­ment/proof
exclu­sions/omissions? (in what is thought or com­mu­ni­cated?)
knowl­edge in­vented, dis­cov­ered, cre­ated, con­veyed, “ac­quired,” cir­cu­lated
– insti­tu­tions, roles; forms, “struc­tures”; lan­guages, dis­course com­mu­nity
– dis­course and knowl­edge dis­tinctly aca­d­e­mic, pro­fes­sional, pub­lic, social/community, per­sonal?

note: you need not ad­dress all these is­sues; how­ever, be sure to in­clude at least 2 of these top­ics when dis­cussing the Infor­ma­tion Par­a­digm as a par­tic­u­lar (sit­u­ated, rel­a­tive) “world­view“

* also: no need to compare/contrast with other par­a­digms (for in­stance, Belief/Story of Unit 1); this will be fo­cus of Blog En­try 3, sep­a­rately.


 

My response:

Reflection-Part 1

As a communication student who just switched to this major about 3 months ago, my discipline revolved around Introduction to Communication literature of books and journal articles. With little knowledge about most of the classes in this major prior to this project; I learned not just how important context of information is provided in professional writing within this major, but I am also in the process of constantly learning how to be confident in myself on being able to write with the proper skills to able to provide information associated from the field, but to also be able to communicate a lot better to everyone and anyone in a day to day basis.

For this project I highly discussed the following topics of the Information Paradigm: information, argument and expertise. Information in my field of study is used to provide an in-depth and detailed explanation and for an author of a book or article to provide some sort of theory or claim on an idea that deals with the influence of communication from interpreting and analyzing various sources. For a majority of professional writing in communication, argument is heavily used to be able to provide new ideas, critics of existing theories and to be able to provide innovating information to the field but it also highly supported by the foundation of information explained from the page I provided from my website.

I love the concept of web writing. On this particular project, I highly enjoyed the aspect of elaborating and designing a website, because it helped a lot with how I provided examples and many visual aids to help the information I provided on each page of my website. Currently, I failed to show and analyze quotes and provide in-text sourcing, which I will revise soon.

 

To be continued..


 

Reflection-Part 2

After Spring break, I added some screenshot of sentences that I thought further elaborated on each of my subtopic of information paradigm I covered under Argument, Information and Expertise. After finally finishing this project to the best I can,  I thought my overall big accomplishment of what I learn and took away from this experience is: Information and expertise in the field of communication is not just based not the argument an author may proposed from an argument perspective of providing a claim and further elaborating on details from his/her research but having the overall combination of all the twelve categories of the information paradigm makes professional writing with the Academia a lot more significant even though this way of rhetorical analysis is usually taken for granted.

A more in-depth and detailed things that I have not yet covered from the first part of my reflection is: A further analysis of how written information is use from professional writing in this field is by providing the context and detailed experience, expertise, knowledge and research of an author within conveying a new perspective to the author’s readers. Another piece of information I have not yet covered is how I learned about Argument being used to provide such evidence/proof besides of how it is used a rhetorical tool to help an author propose a theory or claim for a research question. From this project, I learn that evidence/proof can be provided by such documents like the side notes or description pieces from a journal article or book, graphs, description of data,etc. Then another big part of information paradigm is from how knowledge is conveyed within the audience/readers. The basis of expertise within this discipline of Introduction to Communication writings is from how an author is able to provide new, interesting, relevant, credible, and innovative information to effectively provide such a piece of document within the exponential growth of professional writing in this academia.

 

My website:  http://rhetoric-intro2communication.weebly.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment