Summary

Assignment:Sum­mary (“De­sign Memo”)

  • 300–400 words, 5 points

» Prompt: con­cisely and pre­cisely, de­scribe your Web­text de­sign and ratio­nale con­sid­er­ing audi­ence, pur­pose, and pub­li­ca­tion.
Rather than sum­ma­riz­ing process, be sure to dis­cuss thought­fully your in­tent and the ef­fects of the web­text, not­ing spe­cific choices and ele­ments — in terms of reader-focused de­sign (par­tic­u­lar audi­ence imag­ined) and your ratio­nale (most impor­tant).


 

Part 1: Response

For my webtext design, I intended for my homepage to be simple, visually friendly, and to have easy access to my three other pages. My intended focus area for the audience in this specific project is for students in the Introduction to communication classes at CU Boulder.

My purpose for this project was to go beyond learning about the rhetorical parts of the information paradigm within my major of Communication.


Part 2: Response

My intent for my introduction page was for my audience to scroll down the page and see the over-arching theme of my website which is to be able to show the various aspect of the rhetorical analysis of professional writing from my introduction to communication classes-using the Information Paradigm analysis. A nifty design that I incorporated from the home page is a link to each of my pages: Argument, Information and Expertise within the is from clicking on the pictures.Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 1.46.19 PM

Argument Page:

Some of the designs that I put into this specific page are the two Introduction class books I have from the classes I am currently taking for y first semester of Communication at CU Boulder. Under the Evidence and Proof section supporting argument in this page; I included an example of description which shows how a specific author of a journal article incorporated other theorists, theories, method, objection and key findings. Then, under Research of the argument page, I incorporated words that link research to the other pages which further allows my audience to explore and see my other main pages that elaborates on the Information Paradigm. Also, I included a slideshow of some of the possibility of what research means, how it is used, how it can be done, and other relevance of research within the field of Communication and other majors/disciplines.

Information Page:

Under Information, I just tried to elaborate on how information is used and how knowledge and discourse community helps bind how such information within professional writing in this field are presented. Under Knowledge, I just put a link under the word research to reflect back to the Argument page that further supports how a person can analyze, interpret and communicate such form of view point-based on an author’s concept of his accumulated knowledge (from prior knowledge to the end of his/her finding of new knowledge from his/her research). Then, under Discourse community, I added a snapshot a quote from the International Communication Association President’s welcome speech page to provide a resource outside of just the academia of professional writing in Communication but to also point out that this association exist to provide such credible information and be able to provide an innovative, yet more intelligent future to the academia of information to the student and field of Communication.

Expertise Page:

The purpose of this page was to be able to connect all the other forms of Information Paradigm, but to be also show how expertise is supported by communication convention and values of such category. For values stated or implicit/demonstrated, I put a picture of the Hierarchy of Visual Understanding to showcase what information needs to be included/prioritized within the the professional written documents from this discipline.

 

Information Paradigm:

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 9.46.32 PM

 

 

Leave a comment